Esta página todavía no está disponible en español; te mostramos la versión en inglés.
Comparison
CastDub as a Murf alternative when the script has a cast
Murf's studio is a video-and-voiceover workbench: blocks on a timeline, imported images, background music. CastDub is a casting desk for dialogue. This page is about which of those two shapes matches the thing you are making.
Checked:
We compete with Murf, so check the links rather than take our word. One thing to flag before the table: on 2026-09-21 Murf's pricing page did not render any readable content for us, twice, so there are no Murf prices on this page. We would rather show an empty cell than copy a number out of a third-party listicle.
What we could read on their own sites: their text-to-speech page, and their help centre. Those give a clear picture of the product even without the price list.
What we could verify
| CastDub | Murf | ElevenLabs | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Several characters from one pasted script? | Yes, and it is the whole product: paste a script, it splits the lines, works out who is speaking and gives each speaker one of 40 library characters. Up to 10 distinct base voices in one project. | Not stated on the pages we could open; the help centre describes blocks and a timeline. (source) | “There is no limit to the number of speakers in a dialogue” (Text to Dialogue, Eleven v3). (source) |
| Voices and languages | 40 library characters sitting on 10 base voices (4 female, 5 male, 1 neutral). The characters are personas with acting directions, not 40 separate recorded actors. 9: English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Russian. Every base voice speaks all of them. Regional accents cannot be chosen outside English, and we do not promise them. | “200+ lifelike voices”; “35 languages and 10+ accents”. (source) | “74” languages listed against the paid tiers. (source) |
| Fine control over a read | Per line on Pro; on every plan each character carries a default emotion. 7 emotions, performed by the line rather than approximated with pitch and speed. There is no pitch control. | “Pitch, speed, and pause length, all adjustable per sentence or per word”. (source) | Bracketed audio tags such as [sad] inside the text. (source) |
| Free plan | Yes: 4,500 lifetime download credits (about 5 minutes of finished English audio), 30 synthesised lines per 24 hours, 2 cast members per project. Generating and previewing never costs credits on any plan. | “Free plan: $0 (no credit card required)” with “10 minutes of voice generation”. (source) | $0 with “10k credits per month” and “3 Projects in Studio”. (source) |
| Paid pricing | $5/month for Basic once payment is switched on. Nothing is being charged during the open beta, while every account runs at Pro-level features. | Their pricing page did not render for us on 2026-09-21, so we have no verified Studio prices. For the API their help centre states a free trial of “100,000 characters” and pay-as-you-go from “1000 characters at $0.03 (minimum purchase amount is $2)”. (source) | Starter $6, Creator $11, Pro $99, Scale $299, Business $990 a month. (source) |
| Commercial use | Included on Basic, Plus and Pro; Free is personal and non-commercial. | “We provide full commercial usage rights for audio created with our text-to-speech converter”; the page does not say which plans this covers. (source) | “Commercial License” starts at Starter. (source) |
| One audio file per character (stems)? | Pro only: a ZIP with the mix plus one full-length MP3 per character. | Not stated; the help centre lists Voice Export, Video Export, Script Export and Voice + Music Export. (source) | Not stated; Studio downloads are “MP3 or WAV”. (source) |
| Subtitles? | Plus and Pro: an SRT file, and exporting it costs no credits. | Not stated on the pages we could open. (source) | Automatic captions in Studio; an SRT file is not stated. (source) |
| Video output | None. Audio only: a mixed MP3, plus SRT on Plus and Pro and per-character MP3s on Pro. | Video Export is listed in the help centre, alongside image, video and music import. (source) | Not stated on the pages we read. |
Checked 2026-09-21. Murf's pricing page returned no readable content to our fetcher on that date, so no Studio prices appear here at all.
“Not stated” means we opened the linked pages and did not find the fact; it is not a claim that the feature is absent.
The CastDub column is interpolated from the product's own plan definitions at build time.
What is Murf actually shaped for?
Their own help centre lays the studio out: “Working with Blocks”, “Timeline: Working with Voice Blocks”, “Image Import”, “Video Import”, “Music Import”, “Syncing Images and Videos with Voice Blocks”, “Adding Music at the Beginning of Your Voiceover”, and exports for voice, video, script, and voice-plus-music. That is a production workbench for narrated video and corporate voiceover, and it is more than we offer in that direction — we have no timeline, no images, no music bed.
Their text-to-speech page states “200+ lifelike voices”, “35 languages and 10+ accents”, and controls where “Pitch, speed, and pause length, all adjustable per sentence or per word”. Per-word pause and pitch control is a genuinely fine-grained tool for a narration read, and we do not have it: we have speed on Plus and Pro and emotion on Pro, at line granularity, with no pitch control at all.
CastDub is narrower on purpose. One project is one script. You paste it, we separate the speakers, each becomes a character cast from a library of 40, and the thing you get back is dialogue rather than a narrated slideshow.
Can it voice several characters in one script?
Ours is built around it, with a known ceiling: 10 base voices (4 female, 5 male, 1 neutral), no two characters in one project sharing until the gender pool runs out, and 40 library personas layered on top with age, manner and, for English, accent directions.
For Murf, we could not verify it from their own pages. The help centre index lists blocks and a timeline, which suggests you can put different voices in different blocks by hand, but nothing we could open states that one project takes a multi-speaker script and casts it. So the row in the table says “not stated on their site”, and if this is your deciding feature you should ask them.
Where the two approaches genuinely differ, regardless of that gap: assembling a four-hander out of blocks is manual work per line, and reassigning a character mid-project means revisiting each of that character's blocks. In a casting-shaped tool the character is the unit, so changing who plays Marisol is one change.
What does the free plan get you, and what does it cost after that?
Murf's text-to-speech page states a “Free plan: $0 (no credit card required)” with “10 minutes of voice generation”, and says “We provide full commercial usage rights for audio created with our text-to-speech converter” — that page does not say which plans that covers, so we have not attached it to a tier. For their API, their help centre states a free trial of “100,000 characters”, pay-as-you-go from “1000 characters at $0.03 (minimum purchase amount is $2)”, and a custom plan above that.
Our free tier gives 4,500 lifetime download credits — about 5 minutes of finished English audio — with credits charged only at download, 30 synthesised lines per 24 hours, and 2 cast members per project. Free use is personal and non-commercial; a commercial licence starts at Basic, and that stays true during the open beta even though nothing is currently being charged and every account runs at Pro-level features.
The structural difference is where the meter sits. Ten minutes of generation is consumed by experiments; our credits are not touched until you download something you want to keep, and you can re-listen to a scene as often as you like within the daily line ceiling.
Does it export stems and subtitles?
On Pro, CastDub exports a ZIP with the mix plus one full-length MP3 per character, aligned to the mix, so a composer can put music under a scene without ducking the whole dialogue track. Plus and Pro export an SRT as well, and doing so costs no credits. The format list is short and we should say so: MP3 only, no WAV.
On Murf's side, the help centre's export section lists “Voice Export”, “Video Export”, “Script Export”, “Voice + Music Export” and a download manager. Per-speaker stems and subtitle files are not stated on the pages we could open, so we have left those cells blank rather than guess. Their video export is real and we have nothing comparable.
If your project is destined for a video editor with images and a music bed already in it, their export list is closer to your needs. If it is destined for a DAW and a mix, ours is.
Which languages, and can I clone my voice?
Murf's text-to-speech page states “35 languages and 10+ accents” and “200+ lifelike voices”, and their help centre has a Voice Cloning section, so cloning exists there in some form; the details are theirs to state, not ours to summarise.
CastDub has 9 languages and no cloning at all. Every base voice speaks all 9, so there is no language here with a thin roster, but regional accents cannot be chosen outside English and we do not promise them. We have also not had native reviewers approve every language, which is why every language page here tells you to paste your own lines and listen first.
That makes the cloning question a clean decision rule: if you need your own voice or a client's voice in the output, we are not a candidate this year.
When you should pick Murf instead
When the deliverable is a narrated video. Their timeline, image and video import, music handling and video export are a category of work we do not attempt at all, and stitching our MP3 into a separate video editor is strictly more steps than doing it in one place.
When you need per-word control of pause and pitch — their page states that explicitly, and for a polished corporate read those two controls are often exactly what is missing from an otherwise good take.
When you need a language or an accent in their 35-plus-10 that is not in our 9, or when you need cloning. And when your work is fundamentally one narrator: a casting tool for a single voice is machinery you carry and never use. Pick us when the page in front of you has several people talking on it.
How this page was written
We make a competing product, so this page has an obvious interest built into it. Our defence is that every Murf fact above is quoted from murf.ai or help.murf.ai, read on 2026-09-21, with the link beside it.
The most useful thing on this page might be an absence. Murf's pricing page would not render for our fetcher, so rather than repeat prices from a review site we left the price cell empty and said why. A comparison that quietly fills gaps with plausible numbers is worse than one with holes in it.
We have not rated their voices against ours, because that judgement is not ours to publish. Take the same three lines of your script, run them in both, and trust your ears over both companies' marketing.
Our column comes from the product's own plan code, interpolated when the page is built, so it stays honest without anyone remembering to update it.
Where each fact came from
Every row above that describes another product came from one of these pages. Open them yourself — vendors change their plans without telling anyone, including us.
- Murf — Text to speech — “200+ lifelike voices”; “35 languages and 10+ accents”; “Pitch, speed, and pause length, all adjustable per sentence or per word”; “Free plan: $0 (no credit card required)” with “10 minutes of voice generation”; “We provide full commercial usage rights for audio created with our text-to-speech converter”.
- Murf — Help centre, Working with the Studio — Article list covering blocks, timeline, image/video/music import, and exports (Voice, Video, Script, Voice + Music, Download Manager). Multi-speaker casting, stems and subtitles are not stated.
- Murf — Help centre, API plans and limits — Free trial of “100,000 characters”; pay-as-you-go “1000 characters at $0.03 (minimum purchase amount is $2)”; custom plan above that.
- Murf — Pricing — Returned no readable content to our fetcher on 2026-09-21; no Studio prices were taken from it.
- ElevenLabs — Pricing — Plan prices and credits; commercial licence from Starter; 74 languages.
- ElevenLabs — Text to Dialogue documentation — No limit on speakers in a dialogue; bracketed audio tags control delivery.
- ElevenLabs — Studio product guide — MP3 or WAV downloads by plan; automatic captions; per-speaker stems not stated.
Preguntas frecuentes
Why are there no Murf prices on this page?
Because we could not read them from Murf's own pricing page on 2026-09-21 — it returned no readable content to us, twice. Their help centre does state API pricing: a free trial of 100,000 characters and pay-as-you-go from 1,000 characters at $0.03, minimum $2. For Studio prices, check their pricing page yourself.
Does CastDub have a timeline with images and music like Murf?
No. We have no timeline, no image or video import, and no music track. You get dialogue: a mixed MP3, an SRT on Plus and Pro, and per-character MP3s on Pro that you can take into a DAW or video editor.
Can I adjust pitch and pauses per word?
No. Murf's page states per-sentence and per-word pitch, speed and pause control; we have a five-step speed control on Plus and Pro and per-line emotion on Pro, with no pitch control. If a read needs word-level shaping, they have the tool for it and we do not.
How many speakers can a CastDub project hold?
As many characters as your script has, but only 10 distinct base voices exist, so past that point characters share a voice and are separated by acting direction alone. Plan an ensemble scene around that number.
Is commercial use included?
On Basic, Plus and Pro. Free is personal and non-commercial, and the open beta — everything running at Pro-level features, nothing charged — does not change that term. Murf's text-to-speech page states full commercial usage rights for audio from their converter without naming the plans it applies to.
Which is better for a corporate explainer?
Theirs, most of the time. One narrator, images on a timeline, a music bed and a video file at the end is exactly the job their studio is built for, and every part of our casting workflow would be overhead you never use.
If you are working on one of these
Voices you can cast
Other comparisons
Reparte tu primera escena esta noche
Pega un guion, deja que CastDub le dé una voz propia a cada personaje y exporta un audiodrama terminado.
Empieza gratisSin tarjeta. Free te da una bolsa única de créditos.