此页尚未翻译,暂以英文显示。

Comparison

CastDub as a Speechify alternative — two different jobs

Speechify's main product is for listening — turning what you have to read into something you can hear. Ours is for production. If you arrived looking for a Speechify alternative, the first question is which of those two you actually wanted.

Checked:

We compete with Speechify only at the edges, and pretending otherwise would waste your time. Everything attributed to them here was read on 2026-09-21 from their own pricing pages, and the links are below.

They have two price lists, and the distinction matters: the main one is for the reading app, and a separate one covers Speechify Studio, their voiceover product. Most people comparing “Speechify vs an AI voice generator” are looking at the wrong one of the two.

What we could verify

 CastDubSpeechifyTypecast
What it is built forProducing dialogue from a pasted script: casting, per-line direction, mixed audio out.Listening: “Listen at speeds up to 1.5x”, “Scan & Listen”, document integrations; Speechify Studio is a separate voiceover product. (source)Character voices and video export from a script editor. (source)
Several characters from one pasted script?Yes, and it is the whole product: paste a script, it splits the lines, works out who is speaking and gives each speaker one of 40 library characters. Up to 10 distinct base voices in one project.Not stated on the pricing pages we read. (source)Not stated on the pages we read. (source)
Emotion controlPer line on Pro; on every plan each character carries a default emotion. 7 emotions, performed by the line rather than approximated with pitch and speed.Studio FAQ: “Can I change the emotion or emphasis? Yes! Try it out!”; per-plan availability is not stated. (source)Pro: “Fine-tune voices with emotion controls”; Plus: “Control voice speed”. (source)
Free planYes: 4,500 lifetime download credits (about 16 minutes of finished English audio), 30 synthesised lines per 24 hours, 2 cast members per project. Generating and previewing never costs credits on any plan.Studio free: “600 Studio credits”, “No Voice Cloning”, “No commercial usage rights”. Reading app free: “10 robotic sounding voices”, “Text to speech features only”. (source)“Lifetime download credits 3,000 credits (~5 mins)” with attribution required. (source)
Paid price$5/month for Basic once payment is switched on. Nothing is being charged during the open beta, while every account runs at Pro-level features.Reading app Premium “$29 /Month”; “Studio Starter” “$100 /Year”; “Studio Creator” “$300 /Year”. (source)Basic $5, Plus $19, Pro $29, Business $69 a month. (source)
Voices and languages40 library characters sitting on 10 base voices (4 female, 5 male, 1 neutral). The characters are personas with acting directions, not 40 separate recorded actors. 9: English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Russian. Every base voice speaks all of them. Regional accents cannot be chosen outside English, and we do not promise them.Premium: “1000+ high quality, natural voices”, “60+ different languages”. Studio: “Access to 1,000+ realistic voices” and a named list of 21 languages. (source)“700+ AI voices” and “35+ languages”. (source)
Clone your own voice?No. Voice cloning is not live here. If cloning your own voice is the point, we are the wrong tool today.“No Voice Cloning” on the Studio free plan; cloning on Studio Starter and Creator. (source)Cloning available from Basic upward (1, 1, 2 and 10 slots by plan). (source)
One audio file per character (stems)?Pro only: a ZIP with the mix plus one full-length MP3 per character.Not stated on their site. (source)Not stated on their site. (source)
Subtitles?Plus and Pro: an SRT file, and exporting it costs no credits.Not stated on their site. (source)Not stated; the pricing page lists video exports. (source)

Checked 2026-09-21. Speechify publishes two price lists; both are linked below, and rows say which one a fact came from.

“Not stated” means we opened the linked pages and did not find the fact; it is not a claim that a feature is absent.

The CastDub column is interpolated from the product's own plan definitions at build time.

What is Speechify for?

Their pricing page answers it in its own words. The free plan gives you “Listen at speeds up to 1.5x”, “Listen anywhere”, “10 robotic sounding voices” and “Text to speech features only”; Premium at “$29 /Month” adds “1000+ high quality, natural voices”, “60+ different languages”, and features like “Scan & Listen”, “Voice Typing” and “AI Podcasts”, plus cloud-storage integrations.

That is a reading and listening product, and by the look of that feature list a strong one. Getting through a stack of PDFs while commuting, or making written material accessible to someone who reads slowly, is a real and useful job. We do not do it at all: CastDub has no reader, no document import, no mobile listening, and no way to point at a file and hear it. Paste-only, by design.

Their Studio pricing page is the one to compare against us: a free plan with “600 Studio credits” and “No Voice Cloning”, then “Studio Starter” at “$100 /Year” and “Studio Creator” at “$300 /Year”, both with “Access to 1,000+ realistic voices” and commercial usage rights, where the free plan has “No commercial usage rights”.

Can it voice several characters in one script?

Ours does that and little else: paste a scene, the tool separates the speakers, each becomes a character cast from 40 library personas across 10 base voices (4 female, 5 male, 1 neutral), with no two characters in a project sharing a voice until the pool runs out.

For Speechify Studio, multi-speaker casting from a script is not stated on the pricing pages we read. Their Studio FAQ does answer the emotion question directly — “Can I change the emotion or emphasis? Yes! Try it out!” — but that is a control over a read, not a statement about casting a cast list.

So the honest summary is that we could not verify it and have not marked it either way. If you are choosing between the two for a drama, ask them, and in the meantime judge us on whether pasting a real scene here produces something you would keep.

What does each free tier let you keep?

Speechify Studio's free plan gives “600 Studio credits” and states “No commercial usage rights” and “No Voice Cloning”. The reading app's free tier is about listening rather than producing files — ten robotic voices and speeds up to 1.5×.

Ours gives 4,500 lifetime download credits, about 16 minutes of finished English audio, 2 cast members per project, and 30 synthesised lines per 24 hours. Credits are charged on download only, so previewing a scene twenty times while you cut it costs nothing. There is no attribution requirement on the file, though free use remains personal and non-commercial as a licence term, including during the open beta when everything runs at Pro-level features and nothing is charged.

If your comparison is on price alone: their Studio Starter is “$100 /Year” and Creator “$300 /Year”, against our $5, $19 and $29 a month once payment is switched on. Those shapes are different enough that only your own usage decides which is cheaper.

Which languages, and how many voices?

Speechify Premium states “60+ different languages” and “1000+ high quality, natural voices”. Their Studio page lists its languages by name — English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Chinese (simplified and traditional), Finnish, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Turkish, Swedish, Thai, Russian, Danish and Dutch — which is a narrower and more specific list than the reading app's.

We have 9, all spoken by all 10 base voices, with no accent picker outside English and no promise of native-reviewed quality. On raw coverage and on catalogue size, they are ahead and it is not close.

Where a smaller roster can still win: in a scene, what matters is not how many voices exist but how many distinguishable ones you can have talking to each other, and whether the tool stops two of them colliding without you noticing. That is the part we built.

Does it export stems and subtitles?

On Pro, CastDub exports a ZIP with the mix plus one full-length MP3 per character, which is the requirement if music or effects go under the dialogue. Plus and Pro export an SRT, free of credit cost. Everything is MP3; there is no WAV.

For Speechify, per-speaker stem export and subtitle files are not stated on the pricing pages we read. Voice cloning is stated: “No Voice Cloning” on the Studio free plan, with cloning available on Studio Starter and Creator. We have no cloning at all.

As everywhere in this family of pages, “not stated” means we looked at the pages listed at the bottom and did not find it, not that the feature is missing.

When you should pick Speechify instead

Whenever the job is listening. Reading a textbook aloud, getting through work documents, accessibility support for dyslexia or low vision, listening at 1.5× on a commute — that is their entire product and it is not a corner of ours.

When you want one narrator for a video or a course and a large voice catalogue to choose from, Studio's 1,000-plus voices and its per-year pricing may suit better than a casting tool. When you need one of their languages we do not have, that decides it. And when you want your own cloned voice, their Studio paid plans state cloning and we have none.

We are the better choice in one situation: a script with several people talking, lines you will revise, and a need for per-character audio files and subtitles at the end. If that is not the thing in front of you, they are a better buy and we would rather say so than sell you a workflow you do not need.

How this page was written

This page was written by a competitor, which is a reason to check it rather than trust it. Every Speechify fact above was read on 2026-09-21 from speechify.com's own pricing pages, quoted, and linked.

It is also the page in this family where we most expect to lose, and we have written it that way. Speechify's main product is a reading and listening tool; if that is what you want, nothing we make substitutes for it, and the comparison is not close. Saying so costs us a little traffic and saves you an afternoon.

We have not scored their voices, not put crosses in boxes we could not verify, and not mixed in numbers from review sites. Four rows say “not stated on their site”.

Our own column is generated from the same plan definitions the product enforces, so it updates itself when the product changes.

Where each fact came from

Every row above that describes another product came from one of these pages. Open them yourself — vendors change their plans without telling anyone, including us.

  • Speechify — Pricing (reading app)Free $0 with “Listen at speeds up to 1.5x”, “10 robotic sounding voices”, “Text to speech features only”; Premium “$29 /Month” with “1000+ high quality, natural voices” and “60+ different languages”; Studio linked as a separate product.
  • Speechify — Studio pricingFree plan “600 Studio credits”, “No Voice Cloning”, “No commercial usage rights”; “Studio Starter” “$100 /Year”; “Studio Creator” “$300 /Year”; “Access to 1,000+ realistic voices”; a named list of 21 languages; FAQ “Can I change the emotion or emphasis? Yes! Try it out!”.
  • Typecast — PricingFree $0 with 3,000 lifetime download credits and attribution required; Basic $5, Plus $19, Pro $29, Business $69; emotion controls on Pro; cloning capacity stated per plan.
  • Typecast — Home“700+ AI voices” and “35+ languages”.

常见问题

Is CastDub a replacement for Speechify's reading app?

No. There is no reader, no document import, no mobile listening and no way to have an article read to you. If that is what you wanted, Speechify is the tool and we are not a competitor to it in any useful sense.

How does CastDub compare to Speechify Studio?

Studio is the right comparison. They state 1,000-plus voices, cloning on paid plans, and Studio pricing at $100 and $300 a year; we state 40 library characters on 10 base voices, no cloning, per-line emotion on Pro and per-character stems on Pro. Catalogue size to them; multi-speaker production workflow to us.

Can I upload a PDF or a Word file?

No. CastDub takes pasted text only — no .txt, .docx or .srt import, and no PDF. That is a real limitation, and it is one of the places where a reading-first tool is simply better equipped.

Does CastDub charge credits for previewing?

No. Credits are spent only when you download. Instead there is a cap on synthesised lines per 24 hours — 30 on Free, up to 2,000 on Pro — so you can re-listen and re-cut without watching a balance.

Which languages does CastDub cover?

9: English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German and Russian. Speechify Premium states “60+ different languages”, so on coverage they are far ahead; our claim is that all 9 of ours work identically, with every base voice speaking each one.

Do I get commercial rights on the free plan?

No, on either side. Their Studio free plan states “No commercial usage rights”; ours reserves commercial use for Basic, Plus and Pro. On our side that stays true during the open beta, when every account runs at Pro-level features and nothing is charged.

今晚就给第一场戏配上音

粘贴剧本,让 CastDub 给每个角色配一个音色,直接导出一部完整的有声剧。

免费开始创作

无需绑卡。免费档给的是一次性额度。